Flash Reviews Vol 1 – The Romantic One

Romantic One

The Romantic One

Flash reviews will I hope be a regular feature at Crushingcinders and in time for Valentine’s Day here is Vol 1 – The Romantic One.

Writing book reviews is actually a lot harder than I anticipated when I started blogging. Writing isn’t my strong point and neither is sharing my opinion publicly. Then the tentacles of depression, which tend to sneak up on me without warning, snuff out any form of creativity resulting in irregular posting.

These flash snippets of my book thoughts are short, sharp-ish and to the point. They are not published as stand-alone reviews on my blog but usually shared on Goodreads, Social Media and online book outlets.

Any ARC (advanced review copy) reviews were shared with the publisher.

 

A Taxonomy of Love by Rachael Allen

A heartwarming story with complex, layered and very realistic characters and a rich storyline.
I really liked the way the author handled time, fast forwarding at just the right places throughout the book so the story spans several years and the reader is kept on their to

es.4 star tiny flash reviews

Published: 9 January 2018    Read: 17 December 2017

Goodreads   Amazon.com   Amazon(UK)   Audible(Audio)   Book Depository  Loot.co.za(SA) 

Romantic One

 

The moment Spencer meets Hope the summer before seventh grade, it’s . . . something at first sight. He knows she’s special, possibly even magical. The pair become fast friends, climbing trees and planning world travels. After years of being outshone by his older brother and teased because of his Tourette syndrome, Spencer finally feels like he belongs. But as Hope and Spencer get older and life gets messier, the clear label of “friend” gets messier, too.

Through sibling feuds and family tragedies, new relationships and broken hearts, the two grow together and apart, and Spencer, an aspiring scientist, tries to map it all out using his trusty system of taxonomy. He wants to identify and classify their relationship, but in the end, he finds that life doesn’t always fit into easy-to-manage boxes, and it’s this messy complexity that makes life so rich and beautiful – Abstract from Goodreads

 

Seven Days of You by Cecilia Vinesse

Published: 7 March 2017   Read: 13 December 2016

This is a fast-paced, emotional read stuffed full of angst, longing, regret, nostalgia, all packed into the last seven days of Sophia’s expat life in Japan. Full of feels and a slither of insight into Tokyo through expat eyes. 4 star tiny flash reviews

Goodreads   Amazon.com   Amazon(UK)   Book Depository  Loot.co.za(SA)

Romantic One

 

Sophia has seven days left in Tokyo before she moves back to the States. Seven days to say goodbye to the electric city, her wild best friend, and the boy she’s harbored a semi-secret crush on for years. Seven perfect days…until Jamie Foster-Collins moves back to Japan and ruins everything.

Jamie and Sophia have a history of heartbreak, and the last thing Sophia wants is for him to steal her leaving thunder with his stupid arriving thunder. Yet as the week counts down, the relationships she thought were stable begin to explode around her. And Jamie is the one who helps her pick up the pieces. Sophia is forced to admit she may have misjudged Jamie, but can their seven short days of Tokyo adventures end in anything but good-bye? – Abstract from Goodreads

 

 

Once and for All by Sarah Dessen

A feel-good story sprinkled with humour. This was just what I needed to get me out of a reading slump. I have liked all of Sarah Dessen’s books but this is my favourite. Complex, fun characters, an unusual setting, interlinking relationships and wit = a great book! 5 star tint flash

Published: 6 June 2017   Read: 20 May 2017

Goodreads   Amazon.com   Amazon(UK)   Book Depository   Loot.co.za(SA) 

Romantic One

 

Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that’s why she’s cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm’s length. But Ambrose isn’t about to be discouraged, now that he’s met the one girl he really wants. 

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself. – Abstract from Goodreads

 

 

The Trouble with Flirting by Rochelle Morgan

A lighthearted, feel-good romance. Perfect for the Summer holidays. 4 star tiny flash reviews

Although part of The Trouble Series each book is a stand-alone.

Published: 1 October 2014   Read: 17 September 2014

Goodreads   Amazon.com   Amazon(UK)   Book Depository  Loot.co.za(SA) 

Romantic One

 

Labelled a nerd for most of high school, Livi sees her first year of university as a chance to redefine herself. She can finally enter the popular crowd and maybe even land herself a super hot boyfriend. But Livi’s about to discover that the price of popularity may be more than she’s willing to pay, and that what—and who—she wants most has always been right in front of her. – Abstract from Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

By Your Side by Kasie West

As always Kasie West has delivered a sweet, heartfelt YA contemporary romance. Although I do think the characters didn’t appreciate their weekend venue as much as I would have!

Published: 31 January 2017  Read: 9 May 2017

Goodr4 star tiny flash reviewseads   Amazon.com    Amazon(UK)  Book Depository   Loot.co.za(SA) 

Romantic One When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.  – Abstract from Goodreads  – Abstract from Goodreads

 

10 Comments

  • Olivia @ The Candid Cover

    Blogging can be difficult at times and it is hard to keep with reviews, for sure! I love that you have given such concise thoughts on these books. I have never heard of The Trouble With Flirting before and it sounds like my kind of book. Adding it to the TBR! 🙂

  • Suzanne @ The Bookish Libra

    I think mini-reviews are great. I’ve recently started using them to review books I’m reading for backlist challenges and I love them. They’re great timesavers but still allow me the opportunity to quickly share my overall thoughts on a book.

    Lots of these books are still on my TBR, so I’m glad to hear you enjoyed them all. I had read a sneak peek of the Dessen book last year and thought that was really good so I’m especially glad to see that’s a five-star read 🙂

  • Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books

    Lovely post! I get your feelings on writing reviews, sometimes it’s so hard to find the words and sometimes we just… well, we just don’t feel like it. I love short summaries of your thoughts, too, these are great 🙂 I have heard good things about Taxonomy of love, I’m looking forward to reading this one, and I love the sound of Seven Days Of You as well 🙂
    Lovely post! 🙂

  • Aleen @ Lampshade Reader

    I totally understand that writing reviews can be a little difficult at times. This is actually a great idea when all you really want to say about a book is short and simple.

    I have the Kasie West book on my shelf but haven’t gotten to it yet.

  • Kimberly Sabatini

    Great reviews on all of these!!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.