Crushingcinders

Odd ramblings of an obsessed reader

Book Related Thoughts

What to Read Next?

what to read next

These are the last books that I bought/borrowed.
Which one should I read first?

books in possession

What to Read Next?

Crash Into You by Katie McGarry
This is the third book in the Pushing the Limits series. I loved the first two so am looking forward to this one.

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
I really liked My Life Next Door and this one is a stand-alone so I won’t be pining for the sequel!

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
Morgan Matson writes beautifully. I loved Since You’ve Been Gone  and Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour so I have high hopes for this one.

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider
This one has had lots of positive reviews.

I’m Not Her by Janet Gurtler
I’m not sure about this one, but I love the cover.

Life by Committee by Corey Ann Haydu
I’ve been told by someone I trust that this is good – I’m holding her too that!

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
This one has had so much hype and rave reviews so I hope it lives up to expectations.

Lies I Told by Michelle Zink
This is the only eBook on my list, which may drop to the bottom of the list as I tend to read physical books first, they are a much more visual reminder to “read me!” It’s also the one I’ve heard the least about.

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord
Another book with stellar reviews. I’ve also just noticed that all ten books on my list are contemporary fiction. Guess I’m having a break from fantasy…

Say What You Will by Cammie Mcgovern
This one has been compared to Eleanor & Park, and as you know I love Rainbow Rowell’s writing. I hope I am not going to be disappointed.

Have you read any of these?

Which one should I start with?

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish at http://www.brokeandbookish.com/p/top-ten-tuesday-other-features.html.

42 Comments

  1. I haven’t read any of these, but I really like to cover of Life By Committee. I hope you enjoy them 🙂

  2. I haven’t read any of the books on your list except for The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie, which I ended up loving. I’m especially interested in The Beginning of Everything on your list.

  3. Sue I like the “Say what you will” cover, but I’d probably vote for “Second Chance Summer” or “Crash Into You”.

    Thanks for visiting my blog 😀

  4. I havn’t heard of any of these books before so great list! Enjoy reading them all and thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. I haven’t read any of these, sorry. I have heard good things about Lies I told.

  6. I loved Open Road Summer so I hope you enjoy reading it too!

  7. This looks like a lovely collection you have got yourself here. Looks quite summer-y. Hope you enjoy them all

    Thanks for visiting.

  8. I haven’t read any of these books at all, but they look like an interesting bunch. I’ve heard only good things of ‘The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian’ though. Also, there are some AMAZING covers in that bunch. I do love a good cover.

  9. I just finished My Life Next Door and I really enjoyed it! I personally can’t wait to explore more of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s writing, plus it’s a perfect read for summer!

  10. I love the fonts on the cover of Say What You Will <3

  11. Your list is lovely with a very summery vibe. I’m adding a few to my TBR summer list.
    Happy reading.

  12. Oh man. I love a lot of these books, but I’m going to suggest starting with What I Thought Was True. That one totally knocked my socks off.

  13. Sue, I just followed you on Google Plus. I have a favor. What are some titles of YA books published in South Africa in the last five years or so. I am doing a project with my students about students from other cultures and I just have not found too many YA books coming out of Africa. Either answer on my blog or my email.
    Thanks,
    Anne(dot)bennett(dot)gkhs(AT)gmail(dot)com
    or
    https://headfullofbooks.blogspot.com

  14. I Haven’t read any on your list, however, I wanted to read Lies I Told ! Great picks Sue! and thanks for dropping by my blog ! 🙂

  15. Elle

    I haven’t seen or head of the ones on ur list before. But i will be adding a few. Here is my TTT: https://mooneyesrandomsmile.blogspot.ca/2015/07/top-ten-tuesday-last-ten-books-that.html

  16. “The Beginning of Everything” because I saw it in a bookstore today and I wanted to get it but I’m on a book-buying ban so maybe you can read it and let me know how it is.

  17. “The Beginning of Everything” because I saw it in a bookstore today and I wanted to get it but I’m on a book-buying ban so maybe you can read it and let me know how it is. 🙂 .

  18. “The Beginning of Everything” because I saw it in a bookstore today and I wanted to get it but I’m on a book-buying ban so maybe you can read it and let me know how it is. 🙂

  19. I loved Roger and Amy’s epic detour, so I have no doubt that second chance summer will be just as great. It’s been on my TBR pile for quite a while. Great list!

  20. What a fun list!! I actually haven’t read any of those novels yet, but they sound great!

    Check out my TTT post: https://greenishbookshelf.wordpress.com/2015/07/14/top-10-tuesday-recently-acquired-books/

  21. What I Thought was True!!! I really need to read that! I love Huntley Fitzpatrick, but I just keep forgetting about it! I read Crash Into You and it wasn’t my fav of that series. It’s worth reading because ISAIAH!! Also Open Road Summer sounds good… I’ve only heard great things about it! Thanks for stopping by my list!

  22. I actually own Beginning of Everything and Say What You Will but haven’t gotten to them yet. A lot of the others are one son my TBR – Hope you enjoy them all!

  23. Ahhh, there are so many wonderful books on your list! I highly recommend Second Chance Summer and Open Road Summer. They are both wonderful! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier!

  24. I’m really curious about ‘Lies I Told,’ ‘Second Chance Summer’ and ‘Open Road Summer.’ I read Emery’s second novel and loved it, so I’m hoping her debut is really good too. 🙂 Happy reading, Sue – and thanks for visiting Dreaming Under the Same Moon!

  25. I adored Second Chance Summer! I too love Matson’s writing, so if you’re looking for an emotional and beautiful YA summer read, this would be it.
    Sherman Alexie’s writing is so, so good and The Absolutely True Diary is just wonderful- meaty and unique.
    I also have Life by Committee and Open Road Summer on my TBR pile! 🙂
    Thanks so much for stopping by my TTT 🙂

  26. Exciting list! I recommend starting with Crash Into You, especially since you loved the first two in the series. Life by Committee is GREAT. I hope you love it!

  27. Great list! I really want to check out Morgan Matson’s books. Everyone seems to love them so much. Same with Huntley Fitzpatrick’s books. Have a great week!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  28. Say What You Will was a nice, heartwarming read but I feel like the ending was rushed in some ways 🙂 I don’t know the other books on here but they look like nice summery, beach reads!

  29. I haven’t read any of these, but they look like great summery reads. Hope you enjoy all of these!

  30. Oh man I forgot to add The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian to my list! I was pretty excited to buy it since I know myself well enough to know that I’m too easily distracted by shiny new covers at the library to pick it up and now that I own it I HAVE to read it!

  31. Second Chance Summer is amazing, I absolutely LOVED it. I just finished Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider so I’m looking forward to reading The Beginning of Everything soon as well.

  32. Open Road Summer is, I’ve heard, excellent. Life by Committee wasn’t for me, but I’m excited to get to her other YA, OCD Love Story. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

  33. So many awesome books you have got your hands on. Open Road Summer is one I read recently and really loved, made me get the authors other book and will definitely be reading more by her. I hope you enjoy all of these! 🙂 Here’s my TTT!

  34. I absolutely loved ‘Extraordinary Means’ by Robyn Schneider, and I can’t wait to read the rest of her books. I’d definitely recommend starting with ‘The Beginning of Everything’!
    My TTT

  35. I’ve only read Second Chance Summer and love it! It’s a great books about family. The Beginning of Everything sounds like the kind a book that will make me cry xD I’m still looking forward for it, though 😀
    Happy reading!

  36. Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian is a fantastic book.!

  37. This looks like the perfect summer reading list! I haven’t read any of these but I would start with Open Road Summer as I really fancy a road trip nook at the moment. Happy reading!
    My TTT

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Theme by Anders Norén

%d bloggers like this: